KNARS – Blood On My Mind (Official Music Video)

“Blood On My Mind” by Dutch 7-piece band KNARS is the perfect storm of Electronica, Underground Dance, Drum n Bass, Ska, Punk, and even some Dubstep elements.

Album From the Madhouse out now:…


The postpunk/breakbeat band KNARS (FKA Knarsetand) releases their new album ‘From the Madhouse’ 5 October. KNARS explores an updated sound; harder and rawer than ever.

The updated KNARS has already been wrecking stages across The Netherlands for a year (Amsterdam Dance Event, MadNes and Grasnapolsky), along with successful tours in France and Hungary.

The Album ‘From the Madhouse’ is full of hard guitar riffs, deep sub and hypnotising breakbeats – psychadelic soundscapes are punctured with hardstyle synths and punky texts. The musicality of the group is searing: these dance tracks are played live with a 7-man band with a multi-national-multi-instrumentalist band. A London-style rapper, a warrior from New Zealand on vocals, a funky American drummer, horns, guitars, synths and electronics make this a mad overload with a gritty postpunk/breakbeat flavour.

New sound
The new album ‘From the Madhouse’ is a statement of intent. KNARS is the natural successor to Knarsetand, concocted in the skunkworks of producer, MC and frontman Martijn Holtslag. Knarsetand became known for a dance mix of drum n bass, ska and dubstep. Martijn has turned the party vibes inside out. “I went through a rough patch.” The switch in mindset leaned itself to these new tracks. KNARS is Dutch for ‘grind’. “It grinds more. That’s where the new sound comes from and that’s why we switched the name.”


Directed by: Neyture
Produced by: Ronald Zuidinga

Harry Piekema
Martijn Holtslag
Isaac McCluskey
Luca Simonelli
Sascha van Loenen
Xander van Dijck
Jelle Holtslag
Jurjen Karelse
Jeroen van Beersum
Joey Vos
Moritz Nixdorf
Iason Georgiou

Director of Photography:

Assistent Director: Remco Lette
Edited by: Remco Lette & Neyture
Grading/VFX by: Neyture
Concept: Neyture, Remco Lette, Martijn Holtslag
Casting: Martijn Holtslag
Music by KNARS:
Composition/Production/Vocals and Lyrics: Martijn Holtslag
Guitars: Francesco Taranto aka ELEMENOPEE
Additional Guitars: Storksky
Additional Vocals: Isaac McCluskey aka Ihaka
Mixed by: Martijn Holtslag en Jurriaan Sielcken
Mastered by: Tonny Nobel

Gaffer: Roos Janssen
Key grip: Wesley van Oirsouw
Make-up: Zoe Pollocks
Production assistent: Sybren Planting
Clapper: Robin Zweers
Location Manager: Ellis Mulderij, Martien van Rijn
Special thanks to: Recycle Enschede, Conceptilious, Life, Storksky, Roy Manuhutu, Harry Piekema






Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research.

You may also like...